We will Work To Deliver On The Mandate Of CODEO –CODEO New Co-Chairs

The Coalition Of Domestic Election Observers (CODEO) has inaugurated Rev. Dr. Fred Deegbe and Mrs. Elizabeth Joyce Vilars as the new co-chairs of the advisory board.

CODEO as an independent and non-partisan elections observer with the mandate to ensure transparent, free, fair, and peaceful elections in Ghana since its inception in 2000 has contributed immensely to an improved electoral environment in the country.

Speaking at the launch of the reconstituted and expanded CODEO advisory board, Rev.Dr.Fred Degeebge Co-Chair said the new board would continue the good legacy of the coalition in years ahead.

Adding that, the importance of CODEO can not be overstated in bringing transparency to the electoral process and inspiring public confidence in the outcomes.

Hence CODEO will not renege on its mandate and will explore all opportunities to continue to fulfill its commitment to the good people of Ghana.

“The presence of election observers at polling stations during elections poses a significant deterrent effect against attempts by malicious actors to manipulate the result by exposing potential malpractices is critical in promoting accountability and contributing to the electoral credibility”.

Rev.Dr. Fred Deegbe underscored that their work is essential in contributing to ensuring a free, fair, and peaceful outcome. First, is this year’s District Level Elections (DLE), and even more crucial is Ghana’s ninth consecutive election in the Fourth Republic: December 7, 2024, presidential and parliamentary elections.

Rev Dr. Fred Deegbe and Mrs. Elizabeth Joyce Vilars as Co-Chairs are optimistic that they will set up CODEO for long-term success; while leading the board in engaging key stakeholders and strongly advocating for continuous reforms that would strengthen our electoral system.

Former Chairman of the New Patriotic Party, Peter Mac Manu congratulates the newly CODEO board indicating that the Party believes in the work of CODEO during the election and is assured that the new board will deliver its mandate ahead of the elections and to Ghanaians.

The board which consists of 25 members includes Mrs. Elizabeth Joyce Villars, Rev. Dr. Fred Deegbe as co-chairs, prof. Emmanuel Gyimah-Boadi, Mr. Eric Angel Agbe-Carbonu, Sheikh Armiyawo, Mr. Kofi Bentum Quantson, Ms. Daphne Lariba Nabila, Mr. Frank Beecham, Ms. Philippa Larsen, Mr. Albert Dwumfuor, Mr. Alexander Bankole Williams, Rev. Dr. Cyril Fayorsey, Ms. Joyce Nyame, Mrs. Hamida Harrison, Mr. Edmund Acquaye, Alhaj Ahmad Suleman Anderson, Dr. Marzuq Abubakar, Apostle Immanuel Tettey, Ms. Gifty Florence Anin-Botwe, Prof. Takyiwaa Manuh, Nana Asantewaa Afadzinu, Mrs. Perpetual Ofori-Ampofo, Prof. H. Kwasi Prempeh, and Ambassador Francis A. Tsegah.

At the end of the event, Prof. Miranda Greenstreet Former Co-Chair of the CODEO Advisory Board was honored for her voluntary service and dedication toward building a solid foundation and integrity Coalition since its inception.

Mrs Greenstreet encourages the new board to leave a legacy pertaining to peace

Related posts

Hon. Hawa Koomson Joins President Akufo-Addo To Inspect Court Complex


If You Can’t Complete Suame Roundabout Interchange Don’t Start -NDC Atwima Nwabiagya North Constituency Communication Officer Aspirant


Over 1, 000 Residents now homeless, Some Collapse after they were forced to vacate from their rooms by court order .


Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: